INTERTANKO Oil Pollution Legislation in Littoral States of the USA (eBook)

Published Date

January 2011

Also available in other formats:

INTERTANKO Oil Pollution Legislation in Littoral States of the USA (eBook)

(Excludes any applicable taxes)

This publication sets out US State Oil Pollution Laws, focusing on the parties responsible, the range of claims and the potential financial liability. The publication is useful for any tanker owner trading to US ports.

Be the first to review this product

INTERTANKO members and associate members, please enter INTERTANKO as Promotional Code during checkout for 50% OFF.

INTERTANKO published its first review of US State Oil Pollution Laws in 1993 in response to the US Oil Pollution Act 1990 (OPA 90). This book was published following the Deepwater Horizon spill and focuses particularly on the rights to limit ship liability. It has been expertly compiled by Professor Martin Davies, Director of Tulane Maritime Law Center.


















New Hampshire

New Jersey

New York

North Carolina




Rhode Island

South Carolina





The federal U.S. Oil Pollution Act 1990 (OPA 90) specifically provides that states are not precluded from imposing additional liability with respect to pollution by oil within their territory: 33 U.S.C. § 2718(a)(1)(A). Thirty of the 50 U.S. states have a coastline on an ocean or one of the Great Lakes. Of those thirty, all but six have some kind of legislation imposing liability for vessel sourced pollution. The tables in this report describe the legal position in relation to civil liability for oil pollution in each of the thirty states.

In many instances, the state statutes do not provide complete coverage of all kinds of liability. Where there is no relevant statutory provision, the tables in this report state that liability can therefore be ‘common law only’. It should be noted, however, that it is arguable that state common law cannot apply to ship sourced oil pollution having an impact on land. The Admiralty Extension Act (46 U.S.C. § 30101) provides that cases of damage to person or property on land caused by a vessel on navigable waters of the United States fall within the admiralty and maritime jurisdiction. The general rule is that cases in the admiralty and maritime jurisdiction are governed by federal maritime law, not state common law, save for a few narrowly confined exceptions. As a result, it is arguable that where there is no state legislation, OPA 90 provides the only available remedy. However, claimants are entitled to bring admiralty claims in state court. It is very possible that state court judges would find a way to apply the common law of their states to provide a remedy, notwithstanding the Admiralty Extension Act.

The law is stated as of 18 November 2010.

INTERTANKO (the International Association of Independent Tanker Owners) is a trade association that has served as the voice for independent tanker owners since 1970, representing the interests of its Members at national, regional and international levels.

The organisation champions an industry dedicated to support global energy networks by delivering safe, efficient and environmentally sound transport services.

INTERTANKO actively works on a wide range of operational, technical, legal and commercial issues affecting tanker owners and operators around the world. It draws on regular and direct contact with its Members and other industry stakeholders to develop and disseminate information and best practice, essential to the tanker industry.

Title: INTERTANKO Oil Pollution Legislation in Littoral States of the USA (eBook)
Edition: First
Number of Pages: 44
Product Code: WS1068EA
Published Date: January 2011

Bought this product? Why not review it?

If you have a question about this product, please contact us directly.

Windows eBooks:


To access the eBook, you need to install our free Windows eBook Reader.

The application can be downloaded from:


Standalone eBooks are supplied with 1 licence + 1 backup and are not transferable between platforms.


Remote Desktop Services (Terminal Services) and virtual environments are not supported.


The Windows eBook Reader works with Windows XP or later OS (but not Windows RT).

See more details.


Cloud (online) eBooks:


The Cloud (online) eBooks use Microsoft Silverlight browser plugin to deliver the best possible reading experience with the ability to work in offline mode.


It is an annual subscription service (i.e. each eBook is purchased for 1 year of use).

Online licences are not transferrable to Windows or iPad (or vice-versa).


Silverlight is compatible with the major web browsers used on Windows and Mac OS X operating systems.

However it is not supported on Linux, Android, Windows RT and iPad devices and therefore the Cloud eBooks use an HTML site in these instances.

The HTML site is more restricted than the Silverlight version.


See and more details.


Note for Mac Users:


Mac users can read Windows eBooks with Boot Camp or using virtual machines such as Parallels Desktop, Virtual Box, ...

Alternatively, Cloud (online) eBooks are accessible on Mac, including the Silverlight plugin with offline mode.


Note for Linux Users:


Linux users can read Windows eBooks using a virtual PC.

Alternatively, the HTML version of the Cloud (online) eBooks is accessible.


Note for Tablet Users:


Tablets owners can use the HTML version of the Cloud (online) eBooks.