SOLAS Consolidated Edition 2009 (KE110E)(eBook)

Look Inside

Published Date

November 2009

Also available in other formats:

SOLAS Consolidated Edition 2009 (KE110E)(eBook)

(Excludes any applicable taxes)

Of all the international conventions dealing with maritime safety, the most important is the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, 1974, as amended, better known as SOLAS , which covers a wide range of measures designed to improve the safety of shipping.
Includes April 2010 Erratum


No. OF PAGES: 418

Be the first to review this product

The Convention is also one of the oldest of its kind: the first version was adopted in 1914 following the sinking of the Titanic with the loss of more than 1,500 lives. Since then there have been four more versions of SOLAS. The present version was adopted in 1974 and entered into force in 1980.

In order to provide an easy reference to all SOLAS requirements applicable from 1 July 2009, this edition presents a consolidated text of the SOLAS Convention, its Protocols of 1978 and 1988 and all amendments in effect from that date.

The fully updated 2009 edition features a number of new SOLAS regulations, adopted after the last consolidated edition of the Convention was published. Of these, particular attention is drawn to regulation V/19-1 on long-range identification and tracking of ships (LRIT), regulation II-1/3-8 on mooring and towing equipment and regulation II-1/35-1 on bilge pumping arrangements. The SOLAS provisions for corrosion protection have been updated and expanded and the new requirements are incorporated in chapter II-1. Furthermore, chapter II- 1 was comprehensively revised to include probabilistic requirements for subdivision and damage stability and now also has a new Part F concerning alternative designs and arrangements. The annex to the Convention regarding the SOLAS forms of certificates contains the fully revised safety certificates for nuclear passenger and cargo ships and the list of certificates and documents required to be carried on board ships, as revised, is also added.

The SOLAS Consolidated Edition 2009 is an essential reference for maritime administrations, ship manufacturers, owners and operators, shipping companies, education institutes and all others concerned with requirements of the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea 

Note: This publication, compiled by the Secretariat to provide an easy reference to SOLAS requirements, contains a consolidated text of the 1974 SOLAS Convention, the 1988 SOLAS Protocol, and all subsequent amendments thereto in force as on 1 July 2009. SOLAS Amendments 2006 includes additional amendments in the form of Resolution MSC.201(81) and Annex 3 of Resolution MSC.216(82) (pages 1 to 6 and 88 to 101, respectively), which will enter into force on 1 July 2010. As these amendments are not in SOLAS 2009, for easy reference we have added them to our website here. These amendments will be reproduced again in the next set of SOLAS Amendment in June 2010 - however, in the meantime, it is advised to keep SOLAS Amendments 2006 for reference for the above mentioned amendments.


IMO Code: KE110E



Title: SOLAS Consolidated Edition 2009 (KE110E)(eBook)
Edition: 2009
Number of Pages: 418
Product Code: MM1231EA
ISBN: ISBN 13: 9789280115055, ISBN 10: 9280115057
Published Date: November 2009
Author: IMO

Bought this product? Why not review it?

If you have a question about this product, please contact us directly.

Windows eBooks:


To access the eBook, you need to install our free Windows eBook Reader.

The application can be downloaded from:

Standalone eBooks are supplied with 1 licence + 1 backup and are not transferable between platforms.


Remote Desktop Services (Terminal Services) and virtual environments are not supported

The Windows eBook Reader works with Windows XP or later OS (but not Windows RT).

See more details.


iPad eBooks:


To access the eBook, you need to install the free Witherby Reader from

the iOS App Store.


iPad eBooks are supplied with 1 licence + 1 backup and are not transferable between platforms.


The iPad application works with iOS 6 or above (iPad 2 or later, iPad mini, not iPhone).

See more details.


Cloud (online) eBooks:


The Cloud (online) eBooks use Microsoft Silverlight browser plugin to deliver the best possible reading experience with the ability to work in offline mode.


It is an annual subscription service (i.e. each eBook is purchased for 1 year of use).

Online licences are not transferrable to Windows or iPad (or vice-versa).


Silverlight is compatible with the major web browsers used on Windows and Mac OS X operating systems.

However it is not supported on Linux, Android, Windows RT and iPad devices and therefore the Cloud eBooks use an HTML site in these instances.

The HTML site is more restricted than the Silverlight version.


See and more details.


Note for Mac Users:


Mac users can read Windows eBooks with Boot Camp or using virtual machines such as Parallels Desktop, Virtual Box, ...

Alternatively, Cloud (online) eBooks are accessible on Mac, including the Silverlight plugin with offline mode.


Note for Linux Users:


Linux users can read Windows eBooks using a virtual PC.

Alternatively, the HTML version of the Cloud (online) eBooks is accessible.


Note for Android and Windows RT Users:


Non-iOS tablets owners can use the HTML version of the Cloud (online) eBooks. 


Look Inside Text